Caregiver

Company: 

Charlie Cheney

Location: 

Salem, OR

 

Job Title: Caregiver

Employer: Charlie Cheney

Contact Information: Charlie Cheney at cm-cheney@hotmail.com or 503-507-1994

Job Description:

I am a 30-something Corban graduate who lives in the Salem area. I work as a middle and high school educator, and am wheelchair-bound with Spinal Muscular Atrophy.

Currently my family meets almost all of my daily needs for help. Those needs are becoming harder to meet through family because my brothers are both working full-time.

My needs involve a variety of tasks throughout the day. Those tasks include things such as:

--Dressing, toileting, bathing, eating

--Transporting to and from work, getting my jacket on and off

--Putting in eyedrops and setting things up/out for me to read, work, etc.

At different times of the day, I need help with different combinations of tasks. Most of the tasks do not require much physical strength, although anything that requires moving me (toileting, bathing, dressing) does require at least some strength.

I'm looking for someone (a Christian, male adult of any age) who could come even once or twice a week, in order to help me for somewhere between 30 minutes and two hours at a time. Although I need help throughout the day, my needs can be grouped into chunks of time, so someone could help me first thing in the morning, late morning/early afternoon, mid-afternoon, or evening. What I need is a little help, however it works out in terms of what fits a person's availability.

I've been approved for state funding of in-home care, so I can pay someone to help me. However, it does take a few months to get a provider number through the State in order to be paid.

 

Closing Date: 

Tuesday, 15 January 2019